The Abbeville Presbyterian Church was organized in 1868 with fifty-nine charter members from Upper Long Cane Presbyterian Church. In 1886 a fire destroyed the original building located at the corner of Main and Ellis streets. The congregation quickly recovered, moved to its current location, and in 1888 dedicated the sanctuary building which is still in use. Costing nearly $14,000, it is furnished with native pine pews and woodwork, beautiful stained glass windows, and a bell the children still enjoy ringing. This architectural gem follows the then-popular Akron Plan. An educational wing was added in 1953 and a wing with an elevator and accessible restrooms in 2011 as part of the “Welcoming Space” renovation project.